Hey yo.  I don’t have much to say, but I was going to update you on the weekend.  Saturday was quite possibly my laziest day here.  I went to Persa Bio Bio, but was gravely disappointed.  It was supposed to be like Canton (sorry New Yorkers, you don’t know what that is), but it was not.  Not even close.  I mosied through a lot of things that were of no interest to me and decided to go back home.  I spent a lot of time thinking/mulling/dreaming and it was needed.  That said, I couldn’t let Sunday be the same.  Before I started the day, I had instructions to call home.  I talked to Mom, Dad, Cheryl, Vickie, and Emmitt.  Vickie was helping Emmitt with his Spanish (because he is going to be bilingual) and Cheryl told me she was glad I was getting this travel business out of my system.  Mom told me how good my dog is and Dad said they had already had their coffee for the day.  As a side note: brewed coffee (i.e. Starbucks), Dr. Pepper, Reese’s, Tex-Mex, Moe’s, Cheesecake Factory, M&M’s, warm showers, straight hair, traveling by car, and clean air are on the U.S. of A agenda.  This isn’t to imply that there aren’t things I will miss about South America, because there are, it is just to say at the root of my free-spiritedness, I am an American.  Anyway.  The mere mention of brewed coffee made my steps go east (Los Leones estacion de metro, where the Starbucks is) instead of west (Universidad de Santiago estacion de metro, where the bus terminal is).  I was thinking about going to San Antonio (a port town close to Santiago), but some where in between the coffee and my arrival at the terminal, I was determined to go to Viña del Mar.  It is a mite lonely to travel alone, but you get to change plans as you please (and walk at your own pase, which I find incredibly liberating).  I had been to Viña before, but I went with some friends and was ready to rediscover the place on my own.  I was able to spend ample time at the beach, on a beautifully perfect sunny day, have dinner at some Mexicanish restaurant at 50% off, and walk amongst the streets I’d missed on the first trip. 

My view of the ocean.

