It is the end of my sixteenth week.  I leave my South American home tomorrow.

There are at least five of you picking me up at five different airports across the country over the next few weeks.

If you forgot what I look like, take the tall blonde girl who can sorta speak Spanish home with you.  I got a choppy hair cut with my choppy Spanish a few weeks ago, so if you need a picture, email me, and I’ll send you one.

I’m very excited to be coming back, but I am reminded of the things I truly enjoyed while I was here.  This is my short, incomplete list.

THINGS I’M GOING TO MISS:

  • Raspberry Juice
  • Explaining things like Gumby or phrases like ‘I’m going to rock it old school’ to Europeans
  • My English Class in La Cisterna
  • Free time
  • The capacity to listen to my iPod
  • Questions like ‘¿como se dice crashed and burned?’ or ‘¿como se llama tazer?’
  • My profesores
  • The fruit and vegetable store that is between my house and the school
  • Finding all the places that only my feet can take me
  • Pie de limon y tres leches de galleteria muy cerca a mi casa…que rico
  • My friends from around the world
  • Finding success in failure, South American style
  • My room and the antique key that opens it
  • Conversations with Tia Luci
  • The Plaza de Armas de Sudamerica
  • The two mountain ranges
  • Avocados
  • Ferias and the conversations they offer
  • The possibilities to explore
  • Sending you pictures like these

Valdivia

The fish market with lobos marinos eagerly awaiting for snacks.

