We’re married.  Dr. and Mrs. Jay Locklear, as pronounced around 6 o’clock in the evening on June 7, 2008 in Kauai, Hawaii.  The day really couldn’t have been better.  When we decided to do this (and by this, I mean choosing a destination wedding where I really had no control of what was to happen) I made up my mind not to have too many expectations.  I mean, it was generally expected that the photographer would show up, the coordinator would have the flowers, etc.   I thought it might rain, but that never really played into the situation because the weather had been perfect since we arrived on Thursday.  All this to say, I couldn’t have expected more.  The weather was perfect.  My dress fit better than the day I tried it on.   The MOB and the MOG had coordinating dresses without a word as to who was wearing what.  My bouquet was gorgeous.  The photographer and videographer were kind and pleasant to work with.  The minister and his wife of 41 years was able to share some wisdom.  It was simple and easy to walk to my groom.  It was natural to say the vows.  It was lovely.

The name of this publication will remain the same, The Phippsonian Chronicle.  I’ll always be a Phipps.  My grandpa Phipps, whom we referred to as Papaw, had three sons.  A generation later, he had six granddaughters.  I believe I am the last to marry and the last to give up her last name.  For him, we’ll keep the same title.  For my new husband, I’ll joyfully sign my name, Deborah Locklear.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank any and everyone who helped or prayed for or loved Jay or I through the years.  We’re both grateful for those we’ve known and how they have impacted our lives.  We’ve shared stories with each other explaining how we know some of you or experiences we’ve known with you.   We wouldn’t be the same without each one.  We thank you.

